PCOS Study: Calling All Volunteers

1 Sep

*UPDATE at bottom

As mentioned last week, the PCOS study is ON!

This is not a medical study. Paleo works wonders for me in alleviating/eliminating my PCOS symptoms and I would like to see if others are getting comparable results.

Who can participate? Anyone with PCOS who would like to complete a 30-day Paleo program in the company of other women with PCOS. It doesn’t matter if you have already started eating Paleo or if this is your first step into the Paleo lifestyle.

* Disclaimer: I am not a doctor or medical professional in any way, shape, or form. All participation is completely voluntary and you should consult your doctor before starting a new dietary program or changing your medications. (Does that cover my backside?)

Purpose: To see the effects of a 30-day Paleo diet on the symptoms of PCOS including, but not limited to: weight gain/loss, fatigue, hair loss, excessive hair growth, anxiety, depression, brain fog, acne, acanthosis nigricans, sleep quality, etc.

The Details. Here are the details for anyone who would like to participate:

  • Tuesday, September 6. This is our start date–the day after Labor Day. End date is Wednesday, October 5.  The study is 30 days.
  • Whole3o. Following the Whole30 program is the bulk of the study. All dietary guidelines are included in the link.
  • Pre-start questionnaire. Complete a questionnaire prior to beginning. All information will be confidential and will not be shared unless given express permission.
  • Before and after photos. Please take these on your own. Further guidelines will be provided.
  • Body measurements. I will give you a list of measurements to take before beginning your Whole30 on Tuesday.
  • Email Questions. On occasion, I will email a couple of questions to you throughout the 30 days.
  • Post-challenge Questionnaire. This will look similar to the first questionnaire.

Any individual information will be kept completely confidential unless given express permission to share it. I will however, publish any collective results here on the blog.

If you would like to participate, please email me so I can give you further details: vibrantsexystrong (at) gmail (dot) com

I look forward to working with all of you! Let’s get a handle on this PCOS crap and start feeling vibrant, sexy, and strong.

UPDATE: Body measurements and photos are also kept completely confidential. Any identifying information will not be seen by anyone but me unless permission is granted prior.

3 Responses to “PCOS Study: Calling All Volunteers”

  1. Danielle September 2, 2011 at 4:13 AM #

    I’m in. 🙂

  2. Meri (Monkeyfood.net) September 7, 2011 at 11:31 AM #

    I would be but I’ve been paleo for almost two years and I really don’t know which symptoms are related to PCOS… But I totally admire you for doing this! I hope you’ll get plenty of replies. 🙂

    • vibrantsexystrong September 9, 2011 at 12:35 AM #

      Thanks Meri! It really is hard to determine what’s PCOS-related and what’s not. There are a handful of women participating, so I’m quite curious to see what the results will be (and for better or worse, I’ll be posting them when I get it all together).

Leave a comment