Primal Blueprint 30 Day Challenge

12 Sep

About every month or two, I start reading a different Primal/Paleo/Ancestral Health blog. Despite how much good stuff is out there, I just don’t have time for more than one blog a day, so I cycle through several different ones, falling into routines that generally last a few weeks before I’m ready for a change.

How fortuitous that I was drawn back to Mark Sisson’s stuff on Friday. I love his site for a million reasons, not least of which includes how comprehensive Mark’s Daily Apple is. He’s pretty much my go-to on anything I need help understanding.

The Primal Blueprint 30-Day Challenge starts today. It includes a plan for eating, fitness, sleep, sun, and play. The flier offers a much better explanation than I can:

Of course all areas are important–eating, fitness, sleep, sun, and play–but the real reason I’m pumped for this is because I’ve been looking for some motivation to get better sleep. Or any sleep for that matter.

My sleep patterns don’t resemble a pattern at all right now. My son is receiving therapy three hours away from our home (in a different time zone), so we’ve spent a lot of time on the road and out of our beds. The baby isn’t sleeping as well as normal, which means I’m sleeping even less well. At the end of the day, I’m too tired to go to bed, which seems utterly ridiculous. Instead of sleeping, I usually end up on the couch in a mental battle between my desire to go to sleep and my unwillingness to stand up and brush my teeth. Somehow, that turns into watching reruns of Arrested Development on Netflix.

10 pm is not my finest hour.

I’ll be working on all areas (I’m in the middle of a Whole30), but sleep is my main focus. Just the kick in the pants I need, and not a minute too soon.

And perhaps I’ll even tackle a few of the Mini Challenges, though squatting to poop probably isn’t going to be the first one I try…

4 Responses to “Primal Blueprint 30 Day Challenge”

  1. Sunny September 12, 2011 at 11:27 AM #

    Hehe! Nope, squatting to poop isn’t on my list either!

    • vibrantsexystrong September 17, 2011 at 10:03 PM #

      Oh good, I thought I was the only one who didn’t want to try that šŸ˜‰

      Although, my 3yo seems to like it just fine. Maybe he’s on to something…

  2. Malory December 27, 2011 at 12:41 AM #

    So sympathize with “I usually end up on the couch in a mental battle between my desire to go to sleep and my unwillingness to stand up and brush my teeth.” Add to that situation that I don’t want to look at my acne-ridden skin so I can wash it and you’ve got some going-to-sleep-late problems. But, I’ll go to bed right now! I’ll make it by 11 – that’s pretty good.

    • vibrantsexystrong December 29, 2011 at 12:11 AM #

      Good on ya for getting to bed by 11! Perhaps I better follow your lead. I’ve been having a hard time keeping up with the sleep part since the 30-day challenge ended. Thanks for reminding me that I just need to go.to.bed.

Leave a comment