Mistaking Science for Food

23 Sep

In 10th grade I was getting ready to eat lunch when my Uncle Herb asked what I was making.

Soup, I responded.

He then inquired about what kind of soup. When he saw me pull out a can of Vegetarian Vegetable, he laughed and said, “I thought you were making soup.”

I still distinctly remember thinking, “I am making soup.” Why this was so funny to him, I couldn’t understand.

Sometimes I am surprised by how ignorant I was in the past about real food. It had truly never occurred to me that soup was prepared in any way other than from a little red and white can. My mother never made soup, I’d never seen anyone else make soup, and all of the soup I enjoyed was always processed. The only difference was whether or not the lid was a pop top.

When I start to scoff at how ridiculous I was, I get humbled by one little trip to the grocery store.

Yep. Pork chops in the same case as Lunchables. As if they are equals.

Is it any wonder that I was totally and utterly clueless to the fact that there was such a thing as food quality? That there is a difference between food and science?

Assuming these two are equals, of course I would choose the convenience of a ready-made “meal” over the effort required to throw a pork chop on the grill, prepare a side, and wash dishes.

But I am lucky that I now know better. My kids will know better too. I’m sort of hoping they will be confused about how soup got in that can in the first place.

Leave a comment